Harlingen Texas City Government


Harlingen Texas City Government – is governed by a Mayor elected at-large and a 5 Member City Commission representing 5 individual Single-Member District. All seats are eligible for election every 3 years.

In accordance with the State Constitution, State Statutes, and the City Charter all powers and authority of the City are vested in the elected City Commission.  As the legislative and governing body of the City, the Commission enacts all ordinances and resolutions and adopts all regulations.   The Mayor is the presiding officer of the City Commission and is not entitled to vote as a member of the Commission except in the case of a tie.

The regular meetings of the Commission are held on the first and third Wednesdays of each month at 5:30 p.m. in Town Hall at City Hall, located at 118 East Tyler.


  • The Current Mayor is Mayor Chris Boswell

The City Commissioners are:

  • District 1 Danny Castillo
  • District 2 Tudor Uhlhorn
  • District 3 Mike Mezmar
  • District 4 Ruben De La Rosa
  • District 5 Victor Leal


Harlingen is home to the U.S. Immigration Court, one of 52 such courts in the U.S. that adjudicate immigration cases in the United States. The chief function of the Immigration Court is to conduct removal proceedings, which are administrative proceedings to determine the removability of non-citizens present within the United States.

The Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) operates the Harlingen Parole Office in Harlingen.

The United States Postal Service operates two post offices in Harlingen, including the Harlingen Post Office and the Downtown Harlingen post office.